Artificial Intelligence Task 1 – Poster

TASK: You will be designing a poster for  Artificial Intelligence competition. 

After spending some time researching Artificial Intelligence and creating a mind map of ideas, I came to the conclusion that I wanted to create poster designs based off of the negative impacts robots and AI will have on humans in the future.

PhotoScan (3)

Mind Map of Ideas

PhotoScan (2)

Design 1
This design presents the idea that although certain individuals believe that artificially intelligent robots will help speed up manufacturing processes and improve the efficiency of the tasks carried out (which is true) these robots, however, could potentially learn to think for themselves and ultimately make human factory workers redundant.

The design depicts an ignorant factory manager/owner thinking about introducing artificial intelligence into his business and the reality of the repercussions of his idea are displayed on the right hand side of the page.

PhotoScan (4)

Design 2
This design ultimately highlights unemployment as a massive repercussion of the mass introduction of artificial intelligence into our everyday lives.

The design depicts a line of workers/every day people standing in line to get a job, the person at the front of the line is looking down at a piece of paper with his grades on to suggest that in the future; will our grades and education altogether be necessary in the employability spectrum? If artificial intelligence does become an idea that we choose to incorporate massively into our lives then surely unemployment is going to be one of the biggest problems caused by this decision. Employers ultimately will only be interested in robot workers over human workers as they can work longer hours for a cheaper price.

PhotoScan (5)

Design 3
This design suggests the idea that artificial intelligence could be exploited by the rich to become richer, rather than using new technology for the greater good of society as a whole it will ultimately come down to only the rich being able to have access to AI- creating a greater divide between the rich and the poor.

This design depicts a business man thinking about the money he will gain in profit through the exploitation of artificial intelligence.

Choosing a Design

img002 (2)

I decided to go ahead and choose the second design for the final poster idea as I felt it was the strongest idea. I re-drew it on a larger scale and then decided to scan it into Photoshop and worked on it through this software.  Although Photoshop is not where my strengths lie, and I could have easily painted the image physically on paper instead, I knew I wanted to experiment with a new type of media instead of sticking to what I am used to.

Poster Inspiration

Image result for lowry paintings people

“The Criples”, L.S Lowry 1949

The sketched figures reminded me of the work of Lowry so I decided that I wanted to simulate his style into my own work. I took particular notice of the colours he uses in his paintings and how he portrays people, in particular, through paint. I used the dropper tool to use Lowry’s colour palette in my own poster and zoomed in on the figures in his paintings to fully grasp how to present my own figures in my own design.

ai poster2345.jpg

Final Poster

I used the mouse to produce the final product and tried to use muted colours ( by turning the opacity down on the brush) in order to simulate quite a drab and melancholy atmosphere. However, I feel as though it makes the overall poster not look ‘eye-catching’ enough. I found it difficult to keep control of the mouse whilst painting but I think that is just because I am so unexperienced with the tool at the moment. Although the end product is a little rough and could have been executed better on paper I really wanted to use the paint option on Photoshop just to try it out.

 

 

 

Leave a comment